Avant Apparel – Mercedez Benz Fashion Weeek (Day 4)

Image
Avant Apparel – Mercedez Benz Fashion Weeek (Day 4)

Going to the Avant show knowing that the girls were LISOF graduates, made me pop my collar a bit. However it also showed me that the hard work doesn’t end once we finish this time in school.

Alison Bailey and Lauren Du Plessis had made some waves in the fashion industry and their names are on everyone’s lips, my fashion media lecturer included, Colin O’Mara Davis who was seen sporting some Avant, himself that night.

The lights go out.

This time there’s a bit of anticipation, and the first model is on the runway and we all glued to what’s happening.

Strong architectural garment constructions, Drape coats, sheer mesh dresses in minimalistic finishes seduce my ever present architecture student. Coming from that discipline I fell in love with how these girls interpreted such difficult geometric lines intro dresses and feminine clothing for the “MODERN WOMAN.”

The collection says to me, “I am a powerful woman whose fashion forward and doesn’t wait for the rest of the world to tell me what’s fresh.” The bold lines on every garment never outshine the fabrics used. Everything came together in complete symmetry. I must say with some of the garments you get a sense of dominance, in the kind of woman that would wear them. Hey, I am gutsy but even I had to take it all in and say “FOR THE RUNWAY ONLY” to some of the pieces.

The Grey Melton cocoon skirt was one of my favourite pieces which stood out the most. Some might find this to bold for the streets but I could see myself wearing it with a pair of killer red heels. The bold lines which break through the oval shape of the cocoon, take the wearer of the skirt to a status of being fashion forward and completely independent of the crowd.

My old architecture lecturers would have found a new respect for fashion with this collection. These two ladies brought sex and power to minimalism and architecture in fashion.

Drape coat and Tuxedo pants

Cocoon Skirt

Grey Melton Cocoon Skirt, Black polo neck, Gold Buckled black leather belt

 

Black sheer mesh dress

Sheer Mesh Dress detail

36 responses »

  1. I simply want to say I am beginner to weblog and actually loved you’re blog. Probably I’m want to bookmark your website . You actually have excellent article content. With thanks for sharing with us your blog site.

  2. I just want to mention I’m very new to blogs and honestly loved your blog. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You actually come with tremendous articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing with us your website.

  3. Pingback: Lea Trass

  4. I simply want to mention I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and honestly enjoyed your web-site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your website . You amazingly have great stories. Regards for revealing your web-site.

  5. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for inexperienced blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  6. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog. You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested. Cheers!

  7. Good post. I find out a thing more challenging on various blogs everyday. It’ll often be stimulating to read content material from other writers and practice somewhat something from their shop. I’d prefer to make use of some with the content on my weblog whether or not you don’t thoughts. Natually, I’ll give you a link on your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Nice post. I find out a thing more difficult on distinct blogs everyday. It is going to often be stimulating to read content material from other writers and practice a little some thing from their store. I’d favor to use some with the content material on my weblog whether you don’t thoughts. Natually, I’ll offer you a link on your internet weblog. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Howdy! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

  10. How’s things?, I love site just a notice that I was getting instantly sent straight on the home page whenever I viewed this internal page; It seemed like a browser hi-jack or something like that, I’m not really too absolutely certain but thought you may want to have knowledge of it. Best wishes

  11. Superb blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Bless you!

  12. Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Appreciate it!

    • Hey there

      Thank you for the shout out. Uhm in terms of other blogs – I personally like the satorialist, innercitylivin and a few others. I will post up a piece on various blogs you can check out which are similar to mine.

  13. Heya terrific website! Does running a blog like this require a massive amount work? I’ve virtually no understanding of programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, if you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject but I just needed to ask. Thanks a lot!

    • Thanks for the love. Blogs do require a lot of time and dedication – unfortunately I am juggling school work and the blog but if you have time then that’s all you need. Starting a blog is easy – just follow the programs steps.

  14. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, very good site!

    • I am so glad you love the blog. Currently haven’t loaded anything new because of a busy school schedule but I will be posting soon. When you get back to you should explore with me.
      Thank you for the love.

  15. Pingback: hydroponic led grow lights uk

  16. Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is simply nice and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  17. I can testify that you might be an expert at your field! I would be launching a web site incredibly soon, and your material are going to be quite useable for me. Quite a few thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success within your corporation enterprise.

  18. What BEAUTIFUL pieces! Can’t wait to sit at your fashion show one day my friend! You know I am buying front row 🙂

    • These ladies showed me how architecture and any form of artisitic influence streams through every aspect of your work and for me this was great to see. Their designs are intuitive, innovative and down right creative

LETS TALK ABOUT THIS

